Trumpet 1 part from Toccata in E minor, BWV 914 (brass dectet)

J.S. Bach
6 minutes
Classical music

Scored for a brass ten-piece of 4 Trumpets, 1 Horn, 3 Trombones, 1 Euph and 1 Tuba, this is Bach's keyboard writing at its most florid; consequently it is not an easy piece to pull off, with much dovetailing of intricate passages. The final fugue subject, in particular, might have come straight from the Arban book of technical exercises!

Structurally, the piece breaks down into four main sections - a short opening flourish is followed by a gentle double fugue before a further declamatory section demands exact accuracy all around the ensemble. I've marked this section 'con rubato' with particular reference to the cadenza-like passages for various players. A virtuosic fugue brings the piece to a close.

All tempo markings in square brackets and dynamics are mine.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Dave Taylor. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Dave Taylor has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.