FLUTE part from TRIO IN 5-MOVEMENTS No. 1 for Flute, Bassoon & Pianoforte

1 minute
Modern classical music
Other parts


Program Notes VISIONS OF SPACE, 1983

5-Movement Trio for Flute, Bassoon & Pianoforte Movements are:

Visions-I The Acidic Rains of Venus - 1:00 Visions-2 The Frozen Lands of Andromeda - 1:30 Visions-3 The Dancing Asteroids - 1:30 Visions-4 Pleasures in Space Travel 1:30 Visions-5 The Rivers of Earth - 2:30

The 5-movement trio for flute, bassoon and pianopforte (visions of Space) (bassoon substituting for the original bass clarinet version) was partly written in 1983 as part of my DMA docket of compositions. It was premiered at the College-Conservatory of Music, University of Cincinnati that same year. It is dedicated to my illustrious composition professor, the late Jonathan D. Krammer. The original 4 movements were revised in the Year 2000. The 5th movement was composed in February 2002. The work as a whole shows economy and extreme concentration that reflects the minimalistic approach to composition. Expressions that could be dramatized over, say, 30 minutes are now summed up in a minute or so, with all units of syntatic strucxture appropriately and proportionally represented. The subtitle "Visions of Space" suggests a programmatic dimension. But they were appended after the fact, however, which makes them no less suggestive.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by E. Gyimah Labi. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com E. Gyimah Labi has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.