FLUTE part from TRIO IN 5-MOVEMENTS (Visions of Space) No. 5

2 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

Trio in 5-Movements (Visions of Space) No. 5 �The Rivers of Earth� for Flute, Bassoon & Pianoforte

The Five-movement Piano Trio was partly written in 1983 as part of my DMA docket of compositions. It was premiered at College Conservatory of Music, University of Cincinnati that same year. It is dedicated to my illustrious composition professor, Jonathan D. Krammer. The original 4 movements were revised in the year 2000. The 5th movement was appended in February 2002. Combining the forces of chance and unpredictability with moments of predictable structures, the 5-movement "Visions of Space" has manifested. The unpredictable elements concern quasi-random pitch selections, duration, degrees of intensity and distribution in time. One result of this compositional approach is that tonality gets sidelined in preference for atonality. Essentially, tonality is a particular expression of the general principle of relaxation of tension, which is a particular state that implies or demands resolution. Harmonically, the fundamental expression of tonality is the tonic/dominant relationship. When the harmonic underpinnings of a composition can be considered a derivative of this relationship or principle, in whole or part, for a long or short time, the music is considered tonal. Atonality then refers to compositions in which the composer deliberately banishes tonality. The work as a whole shows economy and extreme concentration that reflects the minimalistic approach to composition. Expressions that could be dramatized over 30 minutes may also be summed up in a minute or so, with all units of syntactic structure appropriately and proportionally represented.

The duration of the movements are as follows:

Vision-1 The Acidic rains of Venus - 1.00 Vision-2 The Frozen Lands of Andromeda - 1.30 Vision-3 The Dancing Asteroids - 1.30 Vision-4 Pleasures in Space Travel - 1.30 Vision-5 The Rivers of Earth - 2.30

The title "Visions of Space" suggests a programmatic dimension. The sub-titles of the movements were appended after the fact, however.

Dr. E. Gyimah Labi Seattle, WA USA October. 2009

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by E. Gyimah Labi. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com E. Gyimah Labi has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.