Cello part from Piano Trio No. 2

8 minutes
Modern classical music
Other parts

This piece was mostly written in April 2009, less than a year after Piano Trio No. 1. The earlier trio consisted of two movements, a meditative slow introduction followed by an affirmatively energetic second movement. Piano Trio No. 2, on the other hand, is a tauter and more intense work in a single movement, though divided into three clearly defined sections �" a slow introduction, an allegro and a concluding adagio. As in Trio No. 1, salient musical features introduced at the outset dominate the work as a whole to provide unity. In this work, the material used to produce the themes and harmonies consists of a dissonant harmony that makes a dramatic appearance at the very opening. The chord, spread over several octaves, consists of the notes (reading upwards) B, C#, D, F, A and F#. Of particular importance is the rising shape given out by the first three notes (B, C#, D) and the sonority of interlocking and clashing major/minor thirds (D �" F, F# - A). All the activity of the work springs out of either or both of these two elements.

The opening Grave, molto sostenuto acts as a tense introduction. After a stark beginning, the cello introduces a nervous melody, then joined by the violin in turn. After a short, calm interlude by the piano, a climax is built up, which then fades out to reveal an echo of the opening gesture.

The violin begins the Allegro risoluto alone with an intense and strenuous fugal subject (an extension of the cello melody) and is subsequently joined by the other instruments in turn. The music becomes increasingly granitic, with major and minor thirds continually clashing, culminating in an intense climax which leads into the final section.

The beginning of the Adagio is the climax of the work, a serious and intense duet for the violin and cello, eventually joined by the piano. This leads to a mood of strong resignation and sorrow as the music heads towards its dark close.

Minor revisions were made to the central Allegro in June 2009.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Harry Sdraulig. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Harry Sdraulig has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.