Guitar part from Not Close Enough

9 minutes
Classical music

The title is influenced by past composing experiences, when performances of my work have been quite different to what I had expected. This piece is in three different sections, the first of which is quite energetic. The Piano�s introduction presents what will be the main motif throughout the latter part of the piece. Being the most percussive instrument in the ensemble, the Piano carries the rhythm almost throughout the first section of the piece by producing various ostinatos. These ostinatos are established between the Guitar and Piano at first and later developed by the rest of the ensemble. Here, the E flat Clarinet and Piccolo play very brief high passages, just a taste of what is to follow! The second section of the piece is a lot slower and almost dreamy to start. The main reason for this change is to give the Guitar a chance to express itself. The Piano creates the atmosphere by producing a mixture of very high and low sustained soft chords whilst the remaining instruments try to establish more flowing melodies. This section gradually picks up speed and momentum when the Clarinet suddenly plays a flowing ostinato passage in 7/8 time, which is later imitated and developed by the rest of the ensemble. This is gradually contradicted by the Piccolo and E flat Clarinet, which play a strict 4/4 rhythm over the top. As the piece finally gets more frantic and leads into the final third section, the Piano begins to play yet another ostinato that is almost consistent until the end of the piece. The whole piece ends with both the E flat Clarinet and Piccolo screeching away with the strict Piano ostinato pounding away underneath, ending hopefully before both the audience and ensemble lose their hearing!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Dan Phelps. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Dan Phelps has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.