Flute or Violin part from FANTASIA DI RITORNO for Flute or Violin and Harpsichord

9 minutes
Modern classical music

Fantasia di Ritorno is an exploration of the ground bass form; of the contrapuntal and emotional dialogue that can be spun out over repeating rhythmic patterns and harmonies. It also seems to have become something rather seriously transcendental, at least to some minds, following my only too brief friendship with musician extrordinaire Fred Kasper (1952-2000). We had many philosophical discussions, usually after several hours of playing duos from 18th century facsimiles. Some of those thoughtful back-and-forths touched on the soul and its possible survival and journey, about all of which he was quite skeptical. I nonetheless dedicate Ritorno to my friend, wherever and whenever he may be, as a kind of last word on the subject. Well, not last if I was correct!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Daniel Jencka. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Daniel Jencka has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.