Violin 2 part from The Marriage of Figaro - Overture

Wolfgang A. Mozart
4 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

By the time Mozart had settled in Vienna he had developed a keen sense of the dramatic. Evidence comes not only in the meticulous attention to detail that emerges from the series of letters exchanged with his librettist Gianbattista Varesco during the composition of Idomeneo in 1781, but also from the knowledge that during his early years in the capital he spent much time searching for a libretto that would suit his dramatic requirements. Two comic operas, L'oca del Cairo (The Goose of Cairo), K. 422, and Lo sposo deluso (The Deluded Bridegroom), K. 430, were started in 1783, only to be put to one side because Mozart had obviously become aware of dramatic weaknesses. The libretto for the latter has been attributed to the Viennese court poet, Lorenzo da Ponte, whom Mozart had met in 1783 and was keen to work with. Two years later Da Ponte finally came up with the libretto Mozart had been searching for. The subject was both attractive and potentially dangerous. Le Mariage de Figaro by the French playwright Beaumarchais was a sequel to his popular Le Barbier de S?ville. First given in Paris in 1784, it had become an enormous success in both France and England, where its disrespectful treatment of the nobility had resulted in a certain notoriety. For that reason it had been banned in Vienna. Yet the attractions of attempting to get a version past the court censors were considerable. There was naturally much curiosity about the play in Vienna, while an operatic version of its predecessor by the Italian composer Giovanni Paisiello had proved immensely popular. Da Ponte skillfully toned down some of the more contentious parts of the play, while Mozart set to work on the results, a four-act opera buffa completed on April 29, 1786 (the date Le nozze di Figaro was entered in Mozart's own catalog). The librettist had done his work well; he was able to persuade Joseph II that an unacceptable play had been transformed into an opera that would not cause offense. The first performance took place at the Burgtheater on May 1, 1786. The opera was not the success with the Viennese public that Mozart and his librettist had hoped for, being withdrawn after only nine performances. Yet disappointment was to prove short-lived. Nine months later Figaro was mounted by the opera company in Prague, where it caused such a sensation that the delighted composer was able to report that the tunes were sung and whistled throughout the Bohemian capital. The opera had achieved a triumph that not only led to Prague commissioning a new opera, Don Giovanni, but also started its career as one of the best-loved operas in the entire repertoire.

This arrangement comes with an additional bass part for use with string orchestra.

  • This piece celebrated its 1,000th "view" on May 22nd, 2004 - 16 months after it was submitted to the site; and its 2,000th "view" on October 22nd, 2004 - just 5 months later! Thank you one and all for giving it a look! *

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Glynn Davies. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to Glynn Davies has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.