Alto Saxophone part from A Little Pomp and Circumstance

(Pomp and Circumstance 1 + 4)

Edward Elgar
7 minutes
Classroom materials and Classical music

The orchestration is mostly the same as the original, but optimized to make it easier to combine a High School Orchestra (often just strings) with Band for Commencement or other occasions. The string parts are as in the original except for a few simplifications. Oboe and Bassoon have been reduced to single parts. Tenor and Alto Saxophone parts have been added, mostly doubling the F Horn, and a Baritone Sax part is provided, doubling Bass Clarinet. The Brass section has been reduced to 2 Trumpets, 2 Horns, 2 Trombones and Tuba plus an added Euphonium (Baritone Horn) part. There are 2 Percussion parts (Bass Drum/Cymbals/Triangle and Side Drum) plus Timpani.

The arrangement is easier to read than old parts and facilitates easily repeating or alternating the sections. It begins with an 8-bar INTRO into the Trio from March No. 4. This is followed (at the Coda sign) by the Trio from March No. 1. At the end of this second trio, one can either repeat back to the Trio from March No. 4 (and repeat as needed) or continue on to the Coda (from the ending of March No. 1). One can also jump to the Coda from the Coda sign.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Joseph Pollard White. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Joseph Pollard White has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.