Violin I part from Prélude de la Porte héroïque du Ciel

Erik Satie
5 minutes
Classroom materials and Classical music

Erik Satie’s 1894 influential piano work arranged for string orchestra, pizz. sempre (also works with mandolin orchestra)

The ’tempo markings’ (e.g. ’Calm and profoundly sweet’, ’Without pride’) are as in the original. The overall tempo should be slow. (’RIDEAU’ means ’curtain’)

The original has no time signature or measures, no key signature and no dynamics.

Time signatures have been added to facilitate rehearsal. In performance there should be little or no sense of meter.

Follow standard practice for accidentals through the measure.

MP is a suggested dynamic as a starting point.

The chord on the downbeat of m. 22 has been re-written to avoid double-sharps. The bass note in m. 24 has been changed to fix what I believe is an error in the original.

Mandolins should tremolo tied notes only.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Joseph Pollard White. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Joseph Pollard White has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.