Clarinet 2 in B^b part from Coriolanus Overture, Op. 62

Ludwig van BEETHOVEN
8 minutes
Classical music

Heinrich von Collin’s play Coriolan, translated into German and adapted from Shakespeare’s Coriolanus, ran at the Vienna Imperial Theatre from 1802 to 1805. Coriolanus was a brave but arrogant Roman general who refused to submit to the Senate, exiled himself, then raised a Volscian army to attack the city. His then-estranged family pleaded with him as his army stood at the gates of Rome. He relented, but the Volscians killed him in revenge. The protagonist held Beethoven’s imagination so well that he wrote the overture in 1807. He also had practical reasons: after writing the 3 Leonore and Fidelio overtures, Beethoven needed a new overture to open his concerts. He also wanted to curry favor with von Collin and the Imperial Theatre impresarios. Although no commission resulted from the Coriolan overture, Muzio Clementi purchased the publishing rights. The sonata form suggests the conflict between Coriolanus (primary theme) and his family (secondary theme) and reflects the story’s tragic ending.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Martin Tousignant. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Martin Tousignant has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.