Viola part from Allegro - (No. 1) String Quartet - Pujolas

7 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

M. Pujoas, dates unknown, wrote three piano trios, all left in manuscript form in early music notation. The trios exist only in microfiche form, photographed from the original manuscript of each individual parts. The current transcription and arrangement is based on the original flute trio. The parts have been updated to accommodate modern day notation and instrument capabilities by John Kula. A viola part has been freely composed, consistent with the harmonic language, and spirit of the piece. The cello part has been augmented to be more interesting than the original bass line, which was more functional than musical. Altogether, a strong piece, lasting seven minutes, that can be added to any existing program. Highly energetic and engaging for both players and audience.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by John Kula. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to John Kula has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.