Voice part from Le Lac (Saint-Saëns / Lamartine)

The Lake

Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)
4 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

This long poem by Lamartine has 16 stanzas –of which Saint-Saëns selected the following seven: 4-8, 13 & 16. This poem has also been set to music by Niedermeyer, Gabriel Marcel and Alain Jacques. Alain Jacques selected 8 stanzas: 1-2, 4-6, 9, 13 & 16. An English translation is also provided in Alain Jacques’ setting. But Lamartine’s commented in 1849 on the various settings of this poem:: "I have always thought that music and poety are harmful to each other when associating. They are both complex arts: music carries in itself its feeling, beautiful verses carry in themselves their melody. " ["j’ai toujours pensé que la musique et la poésie se nuisaient en s’associant. Elles sont l’une et l’autre des arts complets : la musique porte en elle son sentiment, de beaux vers portent en eux leur mélodie."]

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Alain Jacques. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Alain Jacques has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.