Guitar II part from Duo No. 1

Adam Darr
4 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

Some of the best guitar music of Adam Darr’s is for two guitars. Like his solo music, his duets are very expressive and full of harmonic variety. I have used three sources for this engraving. This engraving is based off of the printed source from the Freie Vereinigung fuer das Foerderung guter Guitaremusik Jahrgang No.1, Heft I (1904). Also consulted is a manuscript that is probably the "printer's copy" used for the edition, mentioned above. I have attempted to copy the original as closely as possible, which explains the inconsistencies in the sextuplet notation. Worthy of mention, is the fact that the "printer's copy" does not contain any glissandi. For more information on Darr see my DMA research paper "ADAM DARR (1811-1866) THE CAREER AND WORKS OF A GERMAN ROMANTIC GUITARIST AND ZITHERIST."

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Joseph R. Costello. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Joseph R. Costello has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.