Violoncello part from Concerto #3 for Viola and Strings

6 minutes
Classical music

This adaptation of Mozart’s Violin Concerto No. 3 changes the key to render the work playable on viola in comparative register. This adaptation of the first movement shortens the orchestral exposition and some of the interludes and eliminates the cadenza, while leaving all of the original solo part intact. The result is a work well within the reach of a good high school violist. The orchestral accompaniment, recast for strings, is not difficult. Because of the pitch change, the string parts have been revoiced and do not closely resemble the original. Fingerings have been provided in the solo part, but only bowings are furnished in the orchestra parts.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Ian Edlund. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to Ian Edlund has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.