Bass part from 12 Days of Christmas

4 minutes
Classical music

CAROLS FOR AUDIENCE AND ORCHESTRA Many orchestras, both amateur and professional, have Christmas concerts in which the audience is encouraged to ’sing-a-long’ some carols, so here is the very thing - an arrangement that gives the orchestra something more to do than just play a ’hymn-book’ version! The audience is of course in unison but you could divide them into groups for the different days.

I’ve tried to give the orchestra a different sound for each day i.e. bird calls (not authentic!) for the first four days; 5 ’dings’ for five rings!; muted (wow) 3rd Trombone for the cows moos (they don’t actually moo do they!) Swans = wavy music; pipers = bagpipes etc. etc.

Please remember that the whole arrangement will sound considerably better than the score playback!!!

All these ’Carols for Audience’ have been played by the Kent Concert Orchestra at their yearly Christmas Concerts in the Marlowe Theatre, Canterbury and now by various orchestras all over the world due to the wonders of Sibelius. Scoring: 1 Flute; 1 Picc.(Fl. 2) 2,2,2: 4,2,3,1: Timps: Sus. Cymb., S.Drum: Harp(optional): Strings. Please look at other ’Carols for Audience and Orchestra’.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Tony Royse. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Tony Royse has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.