Bass Drum part from Berceuse héroïque

Claude Debussy arranged for brass band by Carlton King
4 minutes
Classical music

original for piano. inscribed "to give hommage to King Albert I of Belgium and to his soldiers." This short work is Debussy's entire output for 1914, the first year of WWI. The onset of the war, not to mention his colon cancer, left him quite depressed. However, he was impressed with the efforts by the Belgiun army is slowing the advance of German troops. Snippets from Belgium's national anthem, "La Brabanconne", appear throughout, not in the typical march-like form but as reverential interjections. The french tempo and style indications are by Debussy. Likewise for most of the metronome markings. This was first written for solo piano; Debussy later added an orchestral version. I have drawn from both. The timpani part at measures 49-51 is as written in the orchestral version.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Carlton King. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Carlton King has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.