English Horn part from Suite No. 2 for winds, Op. 51 - II. Elegie

3 minutes
Modern classical music

The 2nd suite is modern-classical (i.e. neo-classical) and is scored for winds nonet (2 Flutes, Oboe, English Horn, 2 Clarinets in B flat, 2 Bassoons and Horn in F). It consists of four movements. The 1st movement is moderately fast and in sonata form, the 2nd movement is slow and in Lied form, the 3rd movement is a moderately fast and gracious intermezzo, the 4th and final movement is a moderately fast rondo. In the development section of all movements use has been made of techniques like retrogrades and inversions (a little bit “Spielerei” from the composer). The suite is not too demanding and is probably a nice and sometimes even fun piece to perform for student-musicians. Please enjoy the digital performance made in Sibelius 6 with Garritan Personal Orchestra. Videos with the score moving are on my YouTube-channel.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Geert Van Hoorick. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Geert Van Hoorick has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.