Viola 2 part from Strange Landing

15 minutes
Modern classical music

Strange Landing was written in 2015 and is for String Sextet – 2 each of violins, violas and cellos. The duration is 15.5 minutes.

The title implies a landing in some new environment, perhaps on a new planet with no chance of escape, or even a dream. The work is in three movements: Familiar, yet Unfamiliar; Stranger than Fiction and Progressing to Acceptance.

The first movement starts with aggressive chords that give way to a calmer allegro section (the ‘familiar’). After a return to the opening chords, the movement continues with a new section, containing short melodic phrases (the ‘unfamiliar’). These phases are expanded in the next section over a rocking accompaniment, interrupted by another variant played pizzicato. The opening chords return, followed by a return to the calm allegro which closes the movement.

The second movement is a kind of scherzo and divides the sextet into two trios, each containing a violin, viola and cello. The two trios are in direct conflict with one another. The first trio creates a mysterious atmosphere and the second trio contrasts this with pizzicato phrases, the three instruments appearing in conflict with one another. When later both trios play these simultaneously, chaos abounds! The central section builds up a texture in the first trio, then the second joins in – in a different key – and definitely still in conflict with the first. The remainder of this movement is an unresolved conflict between the two trios.

The third movement is mainly adagio and is a lot more calm, but opening with mysterious chords in 5/4 time. This is resolved by a contrapuntal section which suggests a pentatonic scale. A triple meter section soon follows which develops the chords and melodic phrases already stated. The mysterious chords return, but this time resolves to a less strange harmony, implying acceptance. The triple meter section returns, varied, followed by the contrapuntal section that ends the piece calmly.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Malcolm Dedman. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Malcolm Dedman has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.