drum set part from Norwegian Summer Rain for Jazz Sextet

5 minutes
Jazz music

An original composition for jazz sextet(alto sax,trumpet, piano, vibes, double bass & drums), in a challenging 7-4 time.

The ’’solos’’ section should be repeated as many times as necessary; giving all the instrumentalists a chance to improvise.

Try using the corresponding blues,dorian & pentatonic minor scales to add some variety to your solo.

My thanks are extended to Michael Morse, for his expert advice given to me during the review period!

The addition of the vibraphone is purely optional, if you have a Marimba at your disposal; it would be an excellent alternative!

In the solos sections, piano, vibes bass, and percussion should feel free to ’comp’ (improvise), rather than sticking to my written part.

You may wish to add other instruments at your disposal such as a flute, clarinet, tenor sax, trombone etc.

My thanks to Belinda Moody, for her advice on the string bass part and especially the chord at the end!

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Keith Terrett. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Keith Terrett has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.