Viola part from Concertino For Second Violin

6 minutes
Classical music

Do second violinists have unspoken yearnings for a moment of greater prominence? I have never risked giving offence by asking. Although it is a double concertino, this short work is so titled because the melodic interest in chiefly in the second, simpler solo violin part. It could as well be titled Concertino for violin pupil and teacher. The orchestra suggests a grandiose theme, but the soloist prefers something more lyrical. The wind offer a contrapuntal alternative, but the violin stays with his idea. The wind try again, more gently, and this time the soloists accept and develop the theme. The orchestra offers more drama, but the soloist replies with a simple rondo to end the work. I hope the piece gives pleasure.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Barry Stronge. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Barry Stronge has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.