S.Drum & Triangolo part from Rienzi - Ouverture

Sinfonia dall’Opera

Richard Wagner
10 minutes
Classical music

Rienzi, the last of the tribunes (Rienzi, der Letzte der Tribunen) is the title of the third opera by Richard Wagner, composed between 1837 and 1840, inspired by the novel of the same name by Edward Bulwer-Lytton. Brought on stage for the first time in Dresden, October 20, 1842, was a triumph for composer, yet almost unknown at the time, that, thanks to this success, he secured the post of Kapellmeister at the Court Theatre. The enormous popularity of the opera is due to the fact that it is one of Wagner’s early works, still suffer of styles of French Grand Opera and its major representatives, Meyerbeer and Halévy. It was the first, indeed, prayed by Wagner, to recommend the work at German theatres from Paris. Already the next opera, the Flying Dutchman, however, Wagner will deny this style to move her first steps and truly innovative. The plot of the opera is based on the life of Cola di Rienzo, Roman notary of the fourteenth century that over the years of the century attempted to restore in town the Republic on the model of ancient Rome, and was appointed Tribune of the Plebs.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Giorgio Coppi. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Giorgio Coppi has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.