Snare Drum & Triangle part from Orfeo all’inferno - Ouverture

Orphée aux Enfers

Jaques Offenbach
9 minutes
Classical music

Orpheus in the underworld, operetta in two acts by Jacques Offenbach, libretto by Meilhac and e. l. Halévy. First performance: Paris, Bouffes Parisiens, October 21, 1858. In presenting the Olympians as mean-spirited ridiculous characters. Offenbach gave the opera a flavor that a part of the bourgeois audience at the time could also be outrageous and irreverent; but most warn that beneath the charade, lurked a corrosive satire of the second empire and the new bourgeois nobility of Napoleon III. Gone today this flavor, Orpheus in the underworld still lives for his rhythmic and melodic verve spirit, the mundane taste of an era gone, making it a masterpiece of the genre. Seeed is notable, this operetta, the two can-can and the Waltz.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Giorgio Coppi. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Giorgio Coppi has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.