Flute part from Beethoven: ContreTänze No.1(after Seiss) - wind quintet

L van Beethoven
2 minutes
Classical music

Contre-Tanze (Country Dance) No.1 (adapted Seiss)

Beethoven wrote 12 Country Dances WoO14 for orchestra .

They are all quite short: some have trios.

They are probably better known as a set of 3 piano pieces called Contre-Tanzes which are noted "frei bearbeitet von Isidor Wilhelm Seiss" (freely adapted by Isidor Wilhelm Seiss)

Isidor Seiss (23 December 1840 – 25 September 1905) was a German composer, conductor, pianist, piano pedagogue and philanthropist.

They have a "romantic feel" to them.

Each one of Seiss's 3 country dances are made up of extracts (or the complete dance) from 3 of Beethoven's. In some cases he uses only the trio, other times he uses the first 8 bars. Extracts are also transposed when needed to fit the home key of the piece.

My arrangement is based on the musical layout of Seiss's Dance Number 1 which utilises Beethoven's as follows: No. 1, No.3 and No.11, followed by a reprise of Nos. 1 & 3

Seiss freely adapts Beethoven's melodies and chordal structure.

I have used Beethoven's original orchestration as a guide to give a more authentic classical sound.

The horn part is for a natural horn in C basso. (Horn in F is provided as well.)

It should be performed with repeats, with no repeats on the D.C.

I have ignored the coda from Seiss's arrangement.

Hope you enjoy it.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Ray Thompson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Ray Thompson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.