Oboe part from Dvorak: Slavonic Dances Op.46 No.8 in G minor "Furiant" - wind quintet

A Dvorak
4 minutes
Classical music

Dvorak: Slavonic Dance Op.46 No. 8 in G minor) (Furiant) - wind quintet The Slavonic Dances (Czech: Slovanské tance) are a series of 16 orchestral pieces composed by Antonín Dvořák in 1878 and 1886 and published in two sets as Opus 46 and Opus 72 respectively. Originally written for piano four hands, the Slavonic Danceswere inspired by Johannes Brahms's own Hungarian Dances and were orchestrated at the request of Dvořák's publisher soon after composition. The pieces, lively and full of national character, were well received at the time and today are among the composer's most memorable works, occasionally making appearances in popular culture.

This is my arrangement for wind quintet of the most well known and popular one: No.8 "Furiant"

This is a long blow with all the repeats!! (Repeats are played in full on the D.C)

If you wish to shorten the piece possibilities are:

1.Ignore all repeats except for D.C. al Coda

2.Ignore all repeats including D.C. al Coda repeat…. i.e. play straight through

You will find other quintet arrangements of this piece, both on this site and elsewhere, where all 5 members of the quintet are playing continuously.

I have tried to give every player a "breather" so they are not playing "tutti" all the time.

I have omitted some of the faster quaver/eighth note passages, but my arrangement still maintains the "furious" feel of the piece.

In some areas I have reduced the harmonies of some the chords, but have I think, maintained the musicality.


Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This part was submitted by Ray Thompson. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Ray Thompson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.