Horn in F part from Praeludium XV

Das Wohltemperierte Klavier v.2

J.S. Bach
2 minutes
Classical music
Other parts

An excellent encore piece to really show off the talents of the quintet.

Bach wrote the second book of Das Wohltemperierte Klavier in 1742 as a companion to Book 1 written 20 years earlier. Each volume consisted of 24 preludes and fugues for the klavier written in every key. This prelude was originally written in G+ but I have transposed it to F+ to simplify the wind parts and produce a more resonant sound.

In most cases, the dynamics will naturally flow from the shape of the phrases and the layering of the parts. I have added only a few judicious markings where necessary for clarity.

Score: 7 pages Parts: 9 pages

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by David Sale. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com David Sale has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.