Violini I part from Mendelssohn: Overture in C Major, Op. 24 transcribed for full orchestra by Yoon Jae Lee

Felix Mendelssohn-Bartholdy
9 minutes
Classical music

Instrumentation: 2. 2. 2. 2 - 2. 2. (3). 0 - tp - str

Originally conceived as a work titled "Nocturno" for an 11-piece Harmonie in 1824, Mendelssohn revised the work for a full 24-piece wind ensemble in 1838. In a letter to his publisher Simrock, Mendelssohn mentions a version for strings but nothing more is known about whether or not Mendelssohn ever made that version. This transcription for full orchestra by Yoon Jae Lee made in 2016 now makes this exuberant overture accessible to chamber and symphony orchestras worldwide. The trombone parts are ad lib.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Mr. Yoon Jae Lee of Ondine Press. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to Mr. Yoon Jae Lee of Ondine Press has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.