1st Trombone B^b part from Suite for Echo Cornet: 1. Fanfare

2 minutes
Modern classical music

The Suite is designed to feature an antique echo cornet, once owned by myself and renovated by Sharon McCallum of the Cranbrook Town Band (UK). The instrument was made by Boosey & Co. of London in 1896 and is informally known as "Mr.Ellis" after the name, presumably of the first owner, engraved on the bell. The Suite consists of four contrasting short pieces, all of which demonstrate the cornet’s ability to effortlessly switch from open to muted mode and back again by the operation of a fourth valve. 1. Fanfare: The cornet is introduced straight away by an opening cadenza to be played ad libitum. The middle section is led in by the horns, shortly joined by the rest of the band. It should be taken at a steady but lively pace. The soloist then returns to the opening theme, building up to a powerful finale with the whole band.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Keith Andrews. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Keith Andrews has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.