Oboe part from Call in the New

3 minutes
Jazz music

Call in the New was written for Denise and Jonathan Lewin for their wedding anniversary party in September 2006. Denise requested that I write a piece that all the family could play. The piece was completed on the 22nd August 2006.

The piece uses various ciphers (including morse code) which are based on the family name and the names of individual family members.

’Call in the New’ was carefully scored with the performers in mind and as many members of the family play more than one instrument, there are a number of times when players swap instruments.

The piece is scored for:

Oboe (Hannah) Trumpet (Greg) Tuba (Jodie) Drum Kit (Nathan or Jonathan) Percussion [Cow Bell, Claves, Maracas, Congas, Cymbal, Tambourine, Glockenspiel] (Nathan or Jonathan and Hannah) Piano (Denise) Bass Guitar (Greg) Cello (Jodie)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This part was published on Score Exchange by Guy Bunce. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this part to ScoreExchange.com Guy Bunce has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this part should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this part using the copyright abuse form.