Home > String orchestra > Concerto No. 1 for flute and strings, Op. 52 - I. Allegro giocoso

Concerto No. 1 for flute and strings, Op. 52 - I. Allegro giocoso

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Modern classical music
String orchestra

The 1st flute concerto is modern-classical (i.e. neo-classical, it is more modern than one expects after listening just to the beginning of it) and consists of three movements: a fast one in sonata form - a slow one in arch form - a fast finale in an abbreviated rondo form. The 1st movement contains a cadenza, in the last movement the original cadenza has been deleted in the current version because of not enough matching with the rest of the score, but instead there is just a starting point indicated in the score for in case that the soloist wants to add an improvised cadenza. The performance is a digital performance using Sibelius 4 and Kontakt Gold of the original version of the composition. A score moving video with this performance is on my YouTube-channel.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Geert Van Hoorick. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Geert Van Hoorick has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.