The Labyrinth

Full details...
page one of The Labyrinth

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

‘The Labyrinth’ is for violin and piano and lasts around 8 minutes and was written in 2011. The music came to me whilst walking around a labyrinth at ‘The Edge’, near the Town of Hogsback, Eastern Cape, South Africa.

The first section represents the walk to the centre, via an 11-circuit path some 700 meters long. The twists and turns are represented by sudden changes of tonality, both key and scale. The path is said to represent life’s journey and unfolding creation and the inward turning spiral is said to represent a generative force, or vortex of power, all of this being implied by the music.

The central slow section represents the arrival at the labyrinth’s centre, which can mean many things, but I especially felt love and timelessness. The final section returns to the music of the first as it represents the return back to the start, so the musical events are expressed in reverse order. A sense of unity and reflection is expressed at the end when fragments are combined, thus completing the journey.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
8 minutes
Solo Solo Violin + piano
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of The Labyrinth

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...