Concerto grosso for strings and harpsichord, Op. 38 - V. Finale

Full details...
page one of Concerto grosso for strings and harpsichord, Op. 38 - V. Finale

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This concerto grosso is inspired from the ones of Corelli, but the harmonic language is quite modern (but still tonal) and the style neo-classical. Characteristic in the concerto grosso is the alternation of tutti and solo passages. Here there are four soloist (two violins, viola, cello). The harpsichord part is not concertant but adds a certain archaic flavour to it. There are five movements: two solemn, energetic and fast outer movements, and two slow inner movements, with as middle movement a dance-like intermezzo. A note to possible performers: in general in the strong phrases of the outer movements multiple stops are preferably to be played non divisi; however multiple stops as 2nd crotchets may always be played divisi. Digital performance made in Sibelius 6 with Garritan Personal Orchestra. Score moving videos are on my YouTube-channel.

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
4 minutes
String orchestra
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Concerto grosso for strings and harpsichord, Op. 38 - V. Finale

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...