2-5-1 Jazz Scale Exercises

Scot Ranney
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Jazz music and Classroom materials
Solo instrument (Piano)
Instrumental parts
Not available

This is the first of a dozen jazz exercises and etudes from Scot Ranney’s Jazz Piano Notebook, Volume 1.

What this exercise does is give you two simple but sweet sounding 2-5-1 chord progressions in a rootless voicing configuration (meaning, you wouldn’t play the C in a C chord). If you went to a jam session armed with only these voicings, you’d be able to get through most of the tunes they’d call.

Here’s a video of how it sounds: http://youtu.be/xMGwnH4-HOw

Jam session note: also come armed with three or four tunes you really know well that you can call and really jam on. Don’t call the same tunes week in and week out at the session.

I ran a session in Bellingham at Boundary Bay Brewery for around 5 years. Lots of fun, but a couple regulars called the same tunes every week. That when I’d assert my authority as the band leader to play the tunes in different styles, sometimes upsetting the repeat tune violators while at the same time making it bearable for the rhythm section.

Don't forget, the rhythm section is that part of the music that makes you sound good if you don’t happen to be in the rhythm section.

E-Book: http://www.lulu.com/shop/scot-ranney/scot-ranneys-jazz-piano-notebook-volume-1/ebook/product-17411140.html

Print version: http://www.lulu.com/shop/scot-ranney/scot-ranneys-jazz-piano-notebook-volume-1/paperback/product-3054202.html

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Scot Ranney. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Scot Ranney has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.