The Highwayman Came Riding

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Classical music
Instrumental parts
Not available

WINNER! of the Sibelius Music User Competition hosted by Stefan Kristinsson - August 10 - September 24, 2002.

The rules for this competition were to write a score for a predetermined size orchestra utilizing two motifs in a specific key. Those that participated proved that this site has some very talented contributors.

"The Highwayman" by Alfred Noyes, for those of you who may not be familiar, is one of the best written tragic poems of the early 20th Century. A complete text can be found at this web address:

I hope that I have captured the essence of this great work of literature and that you enjoy listening to my musical interpretation.

Here are just a few of the comments made by voters in the competition:_ _ "You should write a piano concerto. . . I really liked the ?marcato? feeling present in your piece, riding on the ?crisp? rhythms." ?Robert Thoms_

"I liked David O?Quinn?s ?The Highwayman Came Riding? the best, particularly with the careful string triplets at the beginning. I saw some classical harmonic progressions that I enjoyed. I considered this piece to have good development; good play from instrument to instrument and a nice ending." ?David Young_

"This one held my attention throughout the entire piece and I especially like the rhythm of the first section. This would also be my choice if I had to pick one to perform. It would be very enjoyable for an audience." ?Morris Blackham_

"The honor of best composed, best concept, most consistent piece is and has to be David OQuinn's "The Highwayman Came Riding". From start to finish, it's very consistent and survives after many listenings. I can't get the ostinato triplet 8ths, with the two 16th and 8th out of my head. The "dum dum dum, dah-de dum dum", etc. won't go away! The piano entrance and whole section following, etc. is like the best parts of "Danse Macabre"/St. Saens-ish … but then later, it's all David, especially with the horn/trombone and snare, militaristic (approaching Highwayman, doom) theme. But using the pizzicato under that is so classy, and brings us back to the St. Saens's world too…. and hint of Berlioz with the tubular bells, etc. (Was this competition about tubular bells or what?) I have to say the transition to the quiet part with the descending tubular bells a bit awkward for me, especially with the major mode-ish fugue thing, brief sub theme in the violins right after that. BUT the tremelo chromatic strings before the bells is awesome and I wish we had more of that too. The string melodic parts on the page following too are gorgeous. The ending, of course, closes the piece very well and gives us a nice tidy close to a very consistent piece. Very musical!" -Hunter Brown_ As always, if you or your ensemble are interested in performing any of my work, please contact me at

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by David O'Quinn. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to David O'Quinn has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.