Tabula Rasa

Matthew Scott Phillips
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
8 minutes
Modern classical music
Solo Solo Violoncello + piano
Instrumental parts

The idea of Tabula Rasa as is understood in modern society is the epistemological theory that all human beings are born with no innate moral, perceptual, or contextual knowledge or motivation; that we are all essentially a “blank slate” onto which our sensory experiences imprint themselves. As these experiences occur in greater numbers we eventually abstract universal concepts such as morality, purpose, and social responsibility.

But the Tabula Rasa idea does not necessarily condemn humans to being an outcome of their environment. That idea as expressed by John Locke, its modern-day champion, emphasizes the freedom each individual has to author the content of their own character and values. According to Locke even if our innate status as human beings is unchangeable, the way we perceive the world is within our power to shape, through our own reflections and the creation of abstract notions unique to each individual.

This piece is an expression of the struggle to shape one’s inner being in positive way. The violoncello, representing the inner mind, attempts (often unsuccessfully) to absorb the experiences of the outer world, and translate them, through the act of self reflection, into an ideologically cohesive perception of existence. As this perception gradually becomes more complex it can even seem to have the ability to alter the outer world itself.

page one of Tabula RasaASALTTEXT

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Matthew Scott Phillips. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.