Pictures at an Exhibition

Selections Arranged for Brass Ensemble

Modest Mussorgsky
Nicholas Hersh
Full details...
page one of Pictures at an Exhibition

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

A suite from Pictures arranged for small brass ensemble. It only eliminates three movements (Tuileries, Ballet of the Chicks, and Goldberg & Schmuyl) and functions well as a full-length concert piece, maintaining the flow of the overall work. The arrangement takes influence from the Ravel orchestration when appropriate (e.g. Catacombs), but mostly adheres to the original Mussorgsky piano version. Any and all parts may be doubled depending on the specifications of the ensemble and the discretion of the performers. Premiered in Feb. 2010 by the Stanford Brass Ensemble.

Score ID
Modest Mussorgsky
Year of composition
Nicholas Hersh
Year of arrangement
Difficult (Grades 7+)
26 minutes
Concert band / wind band
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Pictures at an Exhibition

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...