Sérénade (A. Jacques / Victor Hugo)

Quand tu chantes bercée

Ashley Meliki Shoup
Full details...
page one of Sérénade (A. Jacques / Victor Hugo)

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

This poem by Victor Hugo, dated 1857, has also been set in music by Charles Gounod (1818-1893). Here in this setting the 3rd verse has been modified and rewritten by Alain Jacques: part in square brackets. The original 3rd stanza (and translation) is as follows:

Quand tu dors, calme et pure Dans l’ombre sous mes yeux Ton haleine murmure Des mots harmonieux Ton beau corps se révèle Sans voile et sans atours Ah! Dormez, dormez, ma belle, Dormez, dormez toujours!

Translation (3rd stanza): When you sleep, calm and pure In the shade under my eyes Your breath murmurs Harmonious words Your beautiful body reveals itself Without veils and without attires Ah! sleep, sleep, ma beauty, Sleep, sleep always!

Score ID
Year of composition
Ashley Meliki Shoup
Victor Hugo/Alain Jacques
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Voice + keyboard
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Sérénade (A. Jacques / Victor Hugo)

Reviews of Sérénade (A. Jacques / Victor Hugo)

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...