Violin Sonata No.1 mvt.3

Matthew Scott Phillips
Full details...
page one of Violin Sonata No.1 mvt.3

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Program Notes:

This violin sonata is meant to achieve the affect of determination in the struggle to reach a seemingly achievable goal, the loss and frustration of failure to reach that goal, and the sense of dissappointment at eventual success. In the first movement all efforts made to overcome a metaphorical obstacale and achieve peace of mind, are met with failure. The second movement encapsulates the struggle to achieve acceptance of failure, and muster the strength to once again attempt achievement. While victory is achieved in the third movement, there is also present the dissappointment of being underwhelmed by the reality of the original goal compared to the emotional struggle necessary to achieve it, and ultimately peace of mind with the realization that external accomplishment does not lead to inner peace.

The Sonata’s structure is comprised of a tonal center and two tonal "subcenters" that are a major third above and below the primary center. The tonal centers are divided by range; the middle range being occupied by the primary center, and the extreme low and high ranges being occupied by the subcenters. Each tonal area moves through harmonies approaching its center (or modulating away from it) equidistantly.

Score ID
Matthew Scott Phillips
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
8 minutes
Solo Solo Violin + piano
Modern classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Violin Sonata No.1 mvt.3

Reviews of Violin Sonata No.1 mvt.3

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...