Concertino for ’Cello and Small Ensemble


Full details...
page one of Concertino for ’Cello and Small Ensemble

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Concertino was written in 2013 and is for cello solo and a small ensemble consisting of flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, piano and percussion. In one continuous movement, this piece lasts around 7 minutes.

The title suggests a miniature concerto for the soloist. Essentially, Concertino is in Rondo form, with the main theme presented by the cello with the other instruments following in rhythmically varied imitations (although the percussion is omitted from the first two statements). Between the three statements of the theme are two interludes which are faster and livelier in character and thematically loosely derived from the main theme. A climax builds up at the end of the second interlude, after which the return of the main theme is stated fortissimo.

The Concertino was originally written for a call for scores by CoMA (Contemporary Music for Amateurs), so the ensemble can be considered to be playable by amateur players.

Score ID
Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
7 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Concertino for ’Cello and Small Ensemble

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...