Wesley, S.S.: Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace (1st edition, 1853); SATTB and organ

Samuel Sebastian Wesley (1810-1876)
Full details...
page one of Wesley, S.S.: Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace (1st edition, 1853); SATTB and organ

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The first edition of Wesley’s perfect short anthem. Copy-text: Samuel Sebastian Wesley, Anthems, vol. 1 (Addison and Hollier, Novello: London and New York, 1853). All dynamics, tempo markings, etc. as in the original. Text as in the original, except that I have added a comma after ’thee’ in bar 25 (Tenors). Written at Winchester, c.1850; first published in Anthems, 1853; revised 1862. All subsequent editions follow 1862. SSW’s changes mainly affect (and improve) the vocal underlay: e.g., bars 5-6 (1853) have a Bb minim for ’is’ and 2 crotchets for ’stay-ed’. In 1862 the rock-like fixity of ’stayed’ is affirmed by its now occupying the Bb minim plus 2 beats more. Nevertheless, this is the version that cathedrals had available to them for 9 years, and it was doubtless sung many times after the publication of the 1862 revision.

Score ID
Samuel Sebastian Wesley (1810-1876)
Year of composition
Anon., Bible
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Choir + keyboard
Classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Wesley, S.S.: Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace (1st edition, 1853); SATTB and organ

Reviews of Wesley, S.S.: Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace (1st edition, 1853); SATTB and organ

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...