Symphony No. 21

N. Miaskovsky
Full details...
page one of Symphony No. 21

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The world premiere of this work took place at the Moscow Festival of Soviet Music on 16 November 1940 with the USSR State SO conducted by A. Gauk. The American premiere was given by the Chicago SO under F. Stock on 26 December 1940 under the title 'Symphonie fantaisie'. Until the end of the 1950s, no one in the USSR dared even mention the work's American connections: it was commissioned by the CSO for its 50th anniversary and dedicated to Stock. The symphony, an eloquent soulful confession cast in a powerfully taut one movement form, could only be conceived and achieved by a composer at the zenith of his craft. For his efforts, Miaskovsky was awarded with the newly established Stalin Prize (First Degree) in 1941. Dubbed by his colleagues as "the musical conscience of Moscow," Miaskovsky was in august company that year as other laureats included his former student Khachaturian (Violin Concerto - which was premiered on the same day as Miaskovsky's Symphony), as well as Shostakovich (Piano Quintet). The Symphony is here transcribed for piano 2 hands by Leonard Turnevicius.

Score ID
N. Miaskovsky
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
16 minutes
Solo instrument (Piano)
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Symphony No. 21

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...