Home > Orchestra > Symphony No 09 4th movement

Symphony No 09 4th movement

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
40 minutes
Instrumental parts
Not available

This Finale to my ninth symphony is a massive forty minute passacaglia. The movement is almost a symphony in itself and its sections correspond to First Movement, Scherzo, Slow Movement, Recapitulation, Fugue and Epilogue. The passacaglia theme heard at the outset is present throughout the movement in various guises, although in the Epilogue it is more of an irritant and ploughs implacably on in the bass line, ignoring all other elements of the music. There are sporadic references throughout the finale to music from the other three movements, although in the Epilogue these become much more frequent and extended. The overall key scheme of the symphony (C minor, E minor, A flat major, and C minor) also plays an important structural role in the finale.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Derek Bourgeois. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Derek Bourgeois has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.