Winds of Artemis

Matthew G. Lawson 2004
Full details...
page one of Winds of Artemis

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Winds of Artemis tells the story of one of the pivotal events that took place leading up to the Greek invasion of Troy and is based upon the texts of Aeschylus and Homer.

Like much of the music from these ancient times the work is aleatoric with no measures nor specific note values. Time is based upon short, long, or longer durations; specified by quarter, half, and whole note noteheads respectively. Music and text found within the boxes are to be played together, beginning approximately at the same time. Overall duration will be dependent mostly on the rate at which the narrator recites the text. Dynamics are primarily left out and will be determined by the dynamic range of the narrator. Both the narrator and clarinetist can be amplified, although it is not a necessity. The clarinetist has the liberty to add embellishments where it seems appropriate. The narrator should endeavor to add as much emotion as possible. The key signature is also reminiscent of ancient Greek music. Due to the unique tonal system of that period it is more convenient to notate a non-standard key signature rather than have an excess of accidentals. All accidentals that occur affect the note that it belongs to and any immediate proceeding notes.

Score ID
Matthew G. Lawson 2004
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Reviews of Winds of Artemis

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...