Home > Solo instrument > Solitude (revised version)

Solitude (revised version)

Unaccompanied Solo for Euphonium

Year of composition
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Modern classical music and Classical music
Solo instrument (Euphonium in Bb [bass clef])
Instrumental parts
Not available

Live Performance (original version): By Pete Echols– Old Dominion University.

Program Notes: Solitude was composed as a personal ongoing aspiration of composing unaccompanied concert pieces for many instruments. The opening motive of Solitude manifested itself simply while standing in an empty parking lot. At the time I went through many iterations of composing the piece in my head, however I didn’t follow through until more than half a year later. Solitude deals with the emotions of isolation including loneliness, depression, anger, sadness, hopelessness, nostalgia, and fear. Instead of being episodic, these emotions and dark feelings coincide with one another. The work has small bursts of perhaps moving forward but always dives back into its lament. In the end, the opening motive returns to reaffirm the perpetual state.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Thomas Joseph. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Thomas Joseph has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.