Home > Wind quintet > Fragmentary Thoughts

Fragmentary Thoughts

Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
2 minutes
Modern classical music
Wind quintet
Instrumental parts

This short piece strives to something that it is not, with whole ensemble rarely agreeing on which direction the music should take. The opening horn starts off very solemnly only to be interrupted and mocked by the cackling of the flute and the oboe, whilst the clarinet and bassoon offer consolation in their sustained notes that build up the resulting dissonant chord. The increase in tempo, following the general pause, seemingly indicates a new and fresh direction for the music to take, only to find its apparently sure footing disintegrating. Eventually, finding no hope of a confirmed musical identity, the piece closes as quickly as possible, with a very superficial cadence trying, but ultimately failing to mask the turmoil set loose in the music.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

This score was submitted by Matthew MacGregor. If you wish to perform, record, or broadcast this music then you should contact them first.

In order to submit this score to ScoreExchange.com Matthew MacGregor has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.