The Girl I Left Behind Me for Recorder Ensemble

Traditional, arranged by Martin Watson
Year of arrangement
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Folk music
Quartet (Treble Recorder)
Related scores
When The Saints Go Marching In for Recorders, Loch Lomond for Recorder Ensemble, Amazing Grace (Blues Style) for Recorder Ensemble, Pick a Bale of Cotton for Two Recorders and Piano , The Sting in the Tail for Recorder Ensemble, Personent Hodie for Recorder Ensemble, Kemp’s Jig for Recorder Quartet, Scarborough Fair (faster version) for Recorder Ensemble, Green Grow The Rushes. Ho! for Recorder Ensemble., Voulez Ouyr Les Cris de Paris for Recorder Ensemble., Simple Gifts for Recorder Ensemble, What Shall We Do With A Drunken Sailor? for Recorder Ensemble., All Through The Night for Recorder Ensemble, Bobby Shafto for Recorder Ensemble, When Johnny Comes Marching Home for Recorder Ensemble, When The Boat Comes In for Recorder Ensemble, This Train for Recorder Ensemble , The Leaving Of Liverpool for Recorder Quartet, Marching Through Georgia for Recorder Ensemble, Suite Gothique for Recorder Ensemble, The Star-Spangled Banner for Recorder Ensemble, John Brown’s Body/Battle Hymn of the Republic for Recorder Ensemble., Two Tom Tunes for Recorder Trio., Saltarello for Recorder Ensemble, Mirror Waltz for Recorder Quartet., Volta 1 for Recorder Trio, Mademoiselle from Armentières for Recorder Ensemble, Yankee Doodle for Recorder Ensemble, Nobody Knows The Trouble I See for Recorder Ensemble, I Bought Me A Cat for Recorder Ensemble, Rock-a-my Soul for Recorder Ensemble, Alpine Stroll for Recorder Ensemble, Botany Bay for Recorder Ensemble and God Save The Queen for Recorder Ensemble

Programme Note: An arrangement by Martin Watson of the folk-melody The Girl I Left Behind Me for recorder ensemble. It is believed that this melody is Irish in origin, but it is now internationally popular.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Martin Watson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Martin Watson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.