Little Suite for Brass Quintet

Full details...
page one of Little Suite for Brass Quintet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

First performed by Onyx Brass; Freshwater, Isle of Wight; 11 January 2014

This short suite – the total playing time is less than 5 minutes – is dedicated to Brian and Barbara Wilson, the composer’s parents, on their Diamond Wedding, though it is based on material from three decades ago. Instead of the usual line-up with two B flat trumpets, one of the trumpeters is asked to play the higher-pitched E flat instrument and, in the third movement, the even higher piccolo trumpet.

The Aria contains a few harmonic surprises, and in the middle section the E flat trumpet gives a brief foretaste of the opening of the third movement. The Scherzo has various major/minor uncertainties and a middle section which thinks it wants to be a waltz but never manages to settle into triple time. In the third movement a short three-part canon is followed by a more static section with a dozen high notes from the piccolo trumpet; the canon is then reprised with chromatic inflections. The last movement might well be called Dance but the composer recommends that you do not attempt to do so – particularly if you are old enough to be celebrating your Diamond Wedding!

Score ID
Year of composition
Difficult (Grades 7+)
5 minutes
Brass quintet
Modern classical music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Little Suite for Brass Quintet

Reviews of Little Suite for Brass Quintet

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...