Les Heures Envolées (A. Jacques / Victor Hugo) - bilingual

Bygone Times

Ashley Meliki Shoup
Full details...
page one of Les Heures Envolées (A. Jacques / Victor Hugo) - bilingual

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

The original poem by Victor Hugo (A des âmes envolées - 1870) was reshaped and rewritten by Alain Jacques (text in square brackets). The melody follows a 11/4 pattern: 3/4 + 2/4.+ 3/4 + 3/4. We give hereafter the original poem by Victor Hugo with its literal translation.

"A des âmes envolées"

Ces âmes que tu rappelles, Mon coeur, ne reviennent pas. Pourquoi donc s’obstinent-elles, Hélas! à rester là-bas?

Dans les sphères éclatantes, Dans l’azur et les rayons, Sont-elles donc plus contentes Qu’avec nous qui les aimions?

Nous avions, sous les tonnelles, Une maison près Saint-Leu: Comme les fleurs étaient belles, Comme le ciel était bleu!

Parmi les feuilles tombées Nous courions au bois vermeil, Nous cherchions des scarabées Sous les vieux murs au soleil;

On riait de ce bon rire, Qu’Eden ja-dis entendit, Ayant toujours à se dire Ce qu’on s’était déjà dit;

Je contais la Mère l’Oie, On était heureux Dieu sait! On poussait des cris de joie Pour un oiseau qui passait.

Translation (AJ): "To departed souls"

These souls that you recall, My heart, do not come back. Why thus are they persisting Alas! in staying there?

In the dazzling spheres, In the azure and the rays, Are they then happier Than with us who loved them?

We had, under the arbours, A house near Saint-Leu: How beautiful were the flowers, How blue was the sky!

Among the shed leaves We were running in the crimson wood, We were looking for scarabs Under the old walls in the sun;

We were laughing with that good laughter That Eden heard a long time ago, Having always to say to each other What we had already said;

I was telling the Mother Goose story, We were happy God knows! We were shouting with joy For a bird that was passing over.

Score ID
Year of composition
Ashley Meliki Shoup
Victor Hugo (1802-1885)
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
3 minutes
Voice + keyboard
Classical music
Instrumental parts

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

Cover art for Les Heures Envolées (A. Jacques / Victor Hugo) - bilingual

Reviews of Les Heures Envolées (A. Jacques / Victor Hugo) - bilingual

Sorry, there's no reviews of this score yet. Please .

You might also like...