La Cucharacha: Brass Quintet

Brass Quintet

Trad. arrangemment by K.W. Gemmell
Full details...
page one of La Cucharacha: Brass Quintet

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

Static preview

The static preview shows a basic image of the first page.

Interactive preview

The interactive preview also shows a preview of the first page, but it's a bit slower to load. The preview is displayed using the Sibelius Cloud Publishing technology from Avid. With most scores, this technology will provide a higher quality preview, as well as being able to switch to full screen mode and also play the displayed music to you.

Printing after purchase

After you have purchased this item the Cloud Publishing technology is utilised to provide the printing mechanism for the music. As such, we recommend checking that the Interactive Preview displays correctly on your device before committing to a purchase.

Full details

Spice up your brass quintet repertoire with some Mexican flavouring and a well-known tune that your audience will immediately relate to.

"La Cucuracha" (Spanish: "The Cockroach") is a lively traditional Spanish folk corrido that became popular in Mexico during the Mexican Revolution.

It’s full of variety and everybody has something interesting to play. It begins with the main melody (A), which is followed by a simple fugue with a new second melody (B). After a brief swing passage ©, with another new melody, the flavour cools down with a tuba solo over a pianissimo backdrop (D + E). A horn solo follows over a rhythmic backkgrounnd (F + G). Yet another new theme is heard at H, this time as a trombone solo. The main theme returns at (I) with the full ensemble and is repeated at J with an optional high trumpet part, which can be played by a teacher or an advanced player. It is optional, though, and sounds fine without it, so don’t let that put you off. Mexican music sounds great on brass instruments and this piece is suitable as a short concert number for both intermediate and advanced level players.

Score ID
Trad. arrangemment by K.W. Gemmell
Year of arrangement
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Brass quintet
World music and Latin music

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

(1) Reviews of La Cucharacha: Brass Quintet

You might also like...