Amparito Roca (arr for 4 cellos)

"Jaime Texidor"
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
4 minutes
Latin music
Quartet (Violoncello)
Instrumental parts

“Amparito Roca” is a fine Spanish paso doble (2-step), or can be played to good effect as a march, and is offered here in an arrangement for four cellos, a group well suited to the various colours and moods of the piece.

“Amparito Roca” is widely attributed to Jaime Texidor (1885-1957), and his name is quoted here to conform to the normal expectations of those seeking this piece, and to reassure them they have found it correctly.

However, the true composer was likely to have been Reginald Clifford Ridewood (1907-1942), who was a British Army band conductor and subtitled the piece “The Sheltered Cliff” (presumably Gibraltar, where he had been stationed). His widow recalls his confirming he was the composer, but, as an Army man, he would have made no formal claim to ownership because it would automatically have been crown property.

Meanwhile, Jaime Texidor re-scored and re-issued the piece, giving it wide popularity, hence the association of his name with it.


Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Peter Neville. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Peter Neville has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.