Branle des Chevaulx for Recorder Ensemble

Thoinot Arbeau, arranged by Martin Watson
Year of composition
Year of arrangement
Moderate (Grades 4-6)
2 minutes
Classical music
Quartet (Descant Recorder)
Related scores
Mirie It Is, While Sumer Ilast for Recorder Ensemble, Alister for Recorder Ensemble, Branle de Champagne for Recorder Ensemble, Gathering Peasecods for Recorder Ensemble, Bergerette "Sans roche" by Susato for Recorders, Mairi’s Wedding for Recorder Ensemble, Ciaccona by A. Falconieri for Recorder Ensemble., Pavana, The Earle of Salisbury and Two Galliards by William Byrd for Recorder Ensemble , Voulez Ouyr Les Cris de Paris for Recorder Ensemble., La Battaglia for Recorder Ensemble, My Lady Wynkfyld’s Rownde for Recorder Ensemble, Personent Hodie for Recorder Ensemble, Kemp’s Jig for Recorder Quartet, Passamezzo d’Italie for Recorder Ensemble, Pachelbel’s Canon for Recorder Ensemble , Gaudete! for Recorder Ensemble, Sumer Is Icumen In for Recorder Ensemble, Lamento de Tristan for Recorder Ensemble, The Keel Row for Recorder Ensemble, Jean Petit Qui Danse (Little Johnny Dances) for Recorder Ensemble., Saltarello for Recorder Ensemble, La Nizzarda for Recorder Trio, Two Tom Tunes for Recorder Trio., Jenny Pluck Pears for Recorder Ensemble, La bourée from Terpsichore for Recorder Ensemble, Five Dances by Anthony Holborne for Recorder Ensemble, Five Dances by Anthony Holborne for Recorder Ensemble, Mr. Lane’s Maggot - Stanley for Ever for Recorder Ensemble, Portsmouth for Recorder Ensemble, Jouyssance Basse Dance from Orchésographie for Recorder Ensemble, When I Am Laid In Earth by Henry Purcell for Recorder Ensemble, The Lord Is My Shepherd and The Day Thou Givest Lord Is Ended for Recorder Ensemble., Daphny for Recorder Ensemble, Stil, stil een reys for Recorder Ensemble and Pastime With Good Company for Recorder Ensemble

Programme Notes: An arrangement for recorder ensemble by Martin Watson of the sprightly Branle de Chevaulx found in Thoinot Arbeau’s 1588 dance treatise Orchesographie.

Which method of viewing music should I use?

Score Exchange has two methods to display previews of music: seView which uses regular html and javascipt and the Scorch plug-in from Avid which needs to be downloaded and installed onto your computer. Both have advantages and disadvantages:


seView, is the most compatible option. You should be able to view music on all modern web browsers including most mobile devices. Even if your device does not support javascript you should still be able to preview at least page one of the music.

You do not need to install any additional software to use seView.


Scorch is a free plug-in from Avid for displaying and printing music. It can also play the music that you're seeing. As modern web browsers are updated, Scorch is no longer compatible with many browsers. Scorch has never been compatible with mobile devices and some web browsers on Mac computers.

If your web browser does not install Scorch automatically, you can click here to download and install scorch manually.

cloud scorch goes here

Licensing for this music

This score was published on Score Exchange by Martin Watson. When you buy it, you are granted a license that includes the following:

Sharing the file you download
When you buy the score - make multiple copies
When you buy parts - make multiple copies

For anything not permitted by the above licence then you should contact the publisher first to obtain permission.

In order to submit this score to Martin Watson has declared that they own the copyright to this work in its entirety or that they have been granted permission from the copyright holder to use their work. If you believe that this score should be not available here because it infringes your or someone elses copyright, please report this score using the copyright abuse form.